Is Ukraine a NATO Member? Which are NATO Member States?

NATO Member Map
NATO Member Map

Whether Ukraine is a member of NATO or not has become one of the prominent issues after the latest political developments. After the tension with Russia, NATO announced that they welcome the sanctions imposed on Russia. Last year, Ukrainian President Volodymyr Zelensky announced that Ukraine would become a member of NATO, and tensions escalated. Of the 30 member states of NATO, two are in North America (the United States of America and Canada), and twenty-eight are in Europe. North Macedonia joined the organization, which was initially established by 12 countries as the founding countries, on 27 March 2020.


Ukraine is not a member of NATO. However, Ukrainian President Volodymyr Zelensky made clear statements about Ukraine's membership to NATO last summer, and tensions escalated over this. NATO membership is open to “all European states capable of advancing the principles of this Treaty and contributing to the security of the North Atlantic Area”.

NATO member countries, in alphabetical order, are as follows:

  • GERMANY (1955)
  • UNITED STATES (1949)
  • ALBANIA (2009)
  • BELGIUM (1949)
  • BULGARIA (2004)
  • DENMARK (1949)
  • ESTONIA (2004)
  • FRANCE (1949)
  • CROATIA (2009)
  • NETHERLANDS (1949)
  • SPAIN (1982)
  • ITALY (1949)
  • ICELAND (1949)
  • CANADA (1949)
  • LANDǦ (2017)
  • LATVIA (2004)
  • LITHUANIA (2004)
  • LUXEMBOURG (1949)
  • HUNGARY (1999)
  • NORWAY (1949)
  • POLAND (1999)
  • PORTUGAL (1949)
  • ROMANIA (2004)
  • SLOVAKIA (2004)
  • SLOVENIA (2004)
  • TURKEY (1952)
  • GREECE (1952)

NATO Member Countries Map

Is Ukraine a NATO member? Which countries are members of NATO?

NATO is the organization that includes Turkey and was founded in 1949, called the North Atlantic Alliance. NATO, to which Turkey joined in 1952, has guaranteed some rights of its members by putting certain articles into operation.

The joining of Turkey and Greece in 1952, and West Germany in 1954, three years after the establishment of NATO, also showed that the NATO alliance was not only a defense organization established against the Soviet threat, but also a policy of encircling the USSR. It was the first stage. As a matter of fact, the events that developed in the later periods, such as the establishment of the ANZUS Pact in 1951, SEATO in 1954, the Baghdad Pact in 1955, and its transformation into CENTO in 1959, were partly within the scope of this containment policy. With the NATO treaty, also known as the Washington Treaty, the United States, Canada, Denmark, Norway, the Netherlands, Belgium, Luxembourg, England, France, Italy, Portugal and Iceland became signatories. Regarding Turkey's accession to NATO, the text of the treaty signed in London in October 1951 was approved by Turkey on February 18, 1952, and NATO membership was achieved.


After the end of the Cold War, that is, the bipolar world, in 1989, NATO has put into practice the “partnership for peace” project with the former socialist countries since 1994, facilitating the participation of these states in NATO in the future with this project. he aimed. In this framework, with the participation of the Czech Republic, Hungary and Poland in 1999, the number of members became 19 at the first stage.

With NATO's Prague Summit in November 2002, the second enlargement process after the Cold War was entered, and alliance and accession negotiations were held with the Balkan and Baltic countries. Although France is a member of the alliance, it decided to leave the integrated military structure of NATO in 1966 as part of President Charles de Gaulle's pursuit of an independent foreign policy. withdrew from the structure but returned again in 1974.

Similar Ads

Be the first to comment