Şanlıurfa Metropolitan City European Mobility Week 2020 National Award

sanliurfa buyuksehire europe mobility week year national award
sanliurfa buyuksehire europe mobility week year national award

Providing the most active participation in the European Mobility Week, which encourages cities and municipalities to take sustainable transportation measures, the Metropolitan Municipality ranked 2020rd among the metropolitan municipalities that won 3 National Mobility Week awards.


as the initiative of the European Commission to improve mobility in cities in every year, 16-22 September, safe walking and cycling to create a city accessible by creating paths and municipality of permanent measures to take to the organized European Mobility Week to promote showing the highest participation in the world this year the country's 551 municipalities with Turkey happened.

Turkey Union of Municipalities, municipalities and other municipalities to support this selfless work as well in order to encourage the most active municipalities in 2019 was awarded in 2020.

Presidency Local Government Policies Board Vice President Prof. Dr. Sukru Karatepe presidency, Environment and Urban Planning Ministry of Local Government and General Director of Turan Konak, Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the European Union Presidency Sectoral Policies President Bush Apartment Altınordu, Transport and Infrastructure Ministry of Infrastructure Investments Directorate General of Department of Fatih Smoke, European Union Delegation to Turkey Sector Manager, Transport and Infrastructure Investments Akif Turkel and Turkey Growers Association of municipalities Secretary General Birol formed with the participation of the jury evaluated the work of the municipalities covered by the weekly gathering on November 25.

As a result of the evaluations made, 22 metropolitan municipalities, 51 municipalities with a population over 3 thousand and 100 municipalities, including 3 municipalities with a population of less than 100 thousand, were awarded.

In the "Week Activities" category, posters, social media posts, briefings, music concerts, movie screenings, traffic trainings, walks with broad participation, etc. activities were evaluated. In the “Permanent Measures” category, studies such as the development of bicycle paths, the construction of bicycle parking areas, the development of green areas, ramps for the disabled, and the expansion of public transportation networks were taken into consideration.

In the "September 22nd Car-Free Day" event, activities such as making public transportation vehicles and the bicycle sharing system free of charge for the whole day, and opening the streets and boulevards to pedestrian use only partially were evaluated.

The municipalities awarded the European Mobility Week 2020 National Awards were announced as follows:

Metropolitan Municipalities

  • Bursa Metropolitan Municipality
  • Mersin Metropolitan Municipality
  • Şanlıurfa Metropolitan Municipality

Municipalities with a population of more than 100.000

  • Usak Municipality
  • Yenimahalle Municipality (Ankara)
  • Yenisehir Municipality (Diyarbakir)
  • Municipalities with a population of less than 100.000
  • Azdavay Municipality (Kastamonu)
  • İspir Municipality (Erzurum)
  • Safranbolu Municipality (Karabük)

Similar Ads

Be the first to comment