When Was Ankara Metro Opened? How Many Stations Are There? Planned Lines

When was the Ankara metro opened? How many stations are there? Lines planned to be built?
When was the Ankara metro opened? How many stations are there? Lines planned to be built?

📩 04/01/2023 09:07

Ankara subway, the subway system serving the capital of Turkey in Ankara. It is operated by the Ankara Metropolitan Municipality EGO General Directorate. It first started operations on 28 December 1997 on the route of Kızılay ↔ Batıkent. Batıkent ↔ OSB-Törekent line was put into service on 12 February 2014, Kızılay ↔ Koru line on 13 March 2014 and AKM ↔ Martyrs line on 5 January 2017. There are a total of 42 stations in the system. M1 line is 16,6 km, M2 line is 16,5 km, M3 line is 15,3 km and M4 line is 9,2 km long. The construction of the M5 line is planned.


  • March 29, 1993: The construction of the Ankara Metro Kızılay-Batıkent Subway (M1) Line was started.
  • December 28, 1997: Opening of the Ankara Metro Kızılay-Batıkent Metro (M1) Line as a system with 12 stations and 108 vehicles (18 series of 6 series).
  • February 19, 2001: The construction of Batıkent-Sincan / Törekent (M3) subway line started.
  • September 27, 2002: The first phase of the Kızılay-Çayyolu (M2) Subway Line Building and Construction works, Söğütözü (AŞTI) -Ümitköy construction work started.
  • 15 July 2003: Kızılay-Keçiören (M4) Subway line construction started.
  • 2007: Ankara Metro was included in the list named 50 Works in 50 Years prepared by the Chamber of Civil Engineers.
  • April 25, 2011: Kızılay-Çayyolu (M2) with the agreement between Ankara Metropolitan Municipality and the Ministry of Transport,
  • Construction and completion of Batıkent-Sincan / Törekent (M3), Kızılay-Keçiören (M4) lines and handed over to the Ministry of Transport.
  • February 12, 2014: Batıkent-Sincan / Törekent (M3) subway line is put into operation.
  • 13 March 2014: Kızılay-Çayyolu (M2) subway line is put into operation.
  • January 5, 2017: AKM-Şehitler (M4) metro line put into operation.

Construction work on the M1, Ankara's first metro line, started on 29 March 1993. The metro line on the Kızılay-Batıkent route was completed and put into service on 28 December 1997. The construction of the M2 line on the Kızılay-Koru route was started on 27 September 2002. Tamamlayamayın Ankara Metropolitan Municipality, the construction of the Republic of Turkey took over the Ministry of Transportation and Infrastructure and finished on March 13, 2014. The construction of the M3 line on the Batıkent-OSB Törekent route started on February 19, 2001. When the municipality could not complete this line, the ministry took over and completed it on February 12, 2014.

Ankara Metro Lines

Kızılay Batıkent Metro Line

M1: Kizilay - Batıkent
Kızılay • Sıhhiye • Ulus • Atatürk Culture Center • Akköprü • İvedik • Yenimahalle • Demetevler • Hospital • Macunköy • Ostim • Batıkent

Kizilay Koru Subway line

M2: Red Crescent - Protect
Red Crescent • Necatibey • National Library • Söğütözü • MTA • METU • Bilkent • Ministry of Agriculture-Council of State • Beytepe • Ümitköy • Çayyolu • Koru

Batıkent OIZ Törekent Subway line

M3: Batıkent - OSB-Törekent
Batıkent • West Center • Mesa • Botanic • Istanbul Road • Eryaman 1-2 • Eryaman 5 • Devlet Mah • Wonderland • Fatih • GOP • OIZ-Törekent

Ataturk Cultural Center Casino Subway line

M4: Atatürk Cultural Center - Casino (Martyrs)
Atatürk Cultural Center • ASKİ • Dışkapı • Meteorology • Municipality • Mecidiye • Kuyubaşı • Dutluk • Martyrs-Casino



Ongoing extensions 

M4 extension 

After the Atatürk Cultural Center, three more stations are built as the High Speed ​​Train Station - Sıhhiye - Kızılay. This extension is 3,3 km. Construction is expected to be completed in 2021. 

M4: Kızılay - Atatürk Cultural Center
Kızılay • Courthouse • TCDD High Speed ​​Train Station

Planned extensions 


Wellhead (M4) - Esenboga Airport - construction of Yildirim Beyazit University planned to be held between the M5 line will be carried out by the Ministry of Transportation and Infrastructure of the Republic of Turkey. Its length will be 27 km. 

M5: Kuyubaşı - Esenboğa - YBÜ
Kuyubaşı • North Ankara • Pursaklar • Palace • Fairground • Esenboğa Airport • YBU

With the second phase of the line, Esenboğa Airport passengers will be able to reach the Train Station without any transfer from Kuyubaşı station. 

M5: Wellhead - Station
Kuyubaşı • Güneşevler • Siteler • Demirlibahçe • Hospitals • Gar

Rod metro 

The line length of Yıldırım Beyazıt University - Rod Rail System Connection Project is 15.835 meters and it will follow the existing highway route. There are five stations within the scope of the project. 

Rod metro: Rod - ICU
YBÜ • DHMİ • Güldarpı • Sünlü • Industry • Stick

Etlik metro 

The line, which starts from the High Speed ​​Train Station and passes through Etlik City Hospital, will end at Ovacık. The project is under preparation and the traffic density of the City Hospital and Etlik district will be reduced. 


AnkaraKart: Metro tickets can also be used on Ankaray and EGO buses.

  • Single boarding fee: Magnetic Card is not sold for Ankara metro, Ankaray and EGO buses. Cash is not accepted in buses or subway counters. You can get on buses and subways for 3.25 Turkish lira with full card and 1.75 Turkish lira with discount cards.
  • Transfer: AnkaraKart is purchased within 75 minutes for other boarding passes, 1.60 TL transfer fee, 75 kurus transfer fee is charged for discounted cards. It is possible to transfer at most 75 times within a 2-minute period. 


Ankara metro serves with 108 wagons. Wagons are 22,8 meters long. 

Ankara Metro Map

Be the first to comment

Leave a response

Your email address will not be published.